|
園區

1970年開發藍毗尼的國際組織成立,並指定日本的丹下健三教授為負責藍毗尼設計總規劃圖的建築師。規劃圖於1978獲得聯合國和尼泊爾政府批准。1985年藍毗尼發展信託會成立,負責藍毗尼的總體發展和管理。



藍毗尼不僅是佛陀的誕生地,它也在尼泊爾政府的支持下被聯合國確定為世界文化遺產,受到聯合國的保護。世界各國將於園區內興建其代表寺廟,供來自全球各地不同宗派的佛教徒前往朝聖。

整個園區為南北向,長方形,面積為三平方英里,劃分為三個部分,每個部分佔地一平方英里,由一條全長1.5 公里,兩旁有步行道路的中央運河串連。

位於最南端的是聖園遺址區,由一圓形的湖圍繞,保護著具有重要意義的古代宗教遺產,包括了佛陀誕生地紀念館、阿育王石柱、原摩耶夫人廟的佛像及舊時藍毗尼園等歷史遺跡。

在聖園遺址區內,有一個對整個佛教世界極具意義的文物,它就是在聖地下面的一塊石板。在摩耶夫人廟所在的位置,經過艱苦和仔細的挖掘,終於在廢墟下三層的地方發現了石板,石板確定了摩耶夫人生下將成為佛陀的釋達多太子的確切位置。

貫穿整個園區的中央運河,銜接南端的誕生聖地遺址與北端的世界和平塔,象徵著佛法的歷史傳承與未來的和平願景緊密聯系。

佛陀的古老智慧將透過當今的實際修持繼續顯現。它們將通過在文化中心區所建設的研究機構和研究工作及寺院區內代表各國的佛寺和傳承的僧團獲得實現。

文化中心區和寺院區位於藍毗尼發展區的中心。文化中心區包含了研究中心、演講廳和博物館。而國際寺院區共有四十二塊土地,由中央運河分為東西寺院區,分別分配給小乘和大乘的佛教寺院。所有的設施均用於佛教的研究和保存。由仁波切所領導的宗南聯合佛教基金會所申請的土地為正方形,各邊長80公尺,位於大乘區的中心,鄰近法國、印度、德國、越南、中國和加拿大的寺院。

|
The Site

In 1970, an international committee to manage the development of Lumbini was formed, and Prof. Kenzo Tange of Japan was assigned to create the Lumbini Master Plan. The master plan was approved by the UN and Government of Nepal in 1978. The Lumbini Development Trust was formed in 1985 to be in charge of the overall development and management of the Lumbini project.



The Lumbini Development Project is a large scale multinational construction project under the auspices and protection of the United Nations, with support of the Nepalese government, located at the United Nations' World Heritage Site at Lumbini, Nepal - the birthplace of the historical Buddha Shakyamuni.

The site of the Lumbini Development Project is a rectangle, oriented from South to North, covering 3 square miles. Its three areas, each one mile square, are connected by a central link, a 1.5 km long corridor canal flanked by two brick pedestrian walkways.

At the Southernmost area lies the Sacred Garden, a holy island encircled by a round lake which embraces and protects it. On the island are the Memorial Hall of Buddha’s Birthplace, Ashoka’s Pillar, the statue of the former temple of Mayadevi, and some historical artifacts of ancient Lumbini.

A sacred slate, the artifact most meaningful to the international Buddhist community, was uncovered three levels below the ruin of the sacred site, at the location of the former Temple of Mayadevi. This slate further confirmed that the site was the actual spot where Queen Mayadevi gave birth to Prince Siddhartha, the future Buddha.

The central canal connects the Sacred Birth Site at the South to the World Peace Stupa at the North, symbolizing a deep connection between historical heritage and a vision of peace and hope.

The ancient wisdom of the Buddha continues to manifest in the present day through actual practice, including the work of Lumbini’sresearch institutes and monasteriesin the Cultural Center and Monastic Area, whereSangha members represent manycountries and traditions.

This area is located in the center of the Lumbini Development Area. The Cultural Center includes a research center, a library, alecture hall and a museum. In the Area of International Monasteries, East and West Monastic Zones are divided by the central canal. Forty two pieces of land are allocated for monasteries of both Theravada and Mahayana traditions. Each monastery will be dedicated to studying, researching and preserving the spiritual traditions of Buddhism.

The World Center for Peace and Unity is located next to the center of the Mahayana zone, neighboring the monasteries of France, India, Germany, Vietnam, the People's Republic of China, and Canada.